Dart Cricket Rules: A Journey into the Heart

If you’re looking to become a Cricket Dart master and dominate the dartboard, you’ve come to the right place. Here, we’ll cover everything you need to know about playing Cricket darts, from the basic rules to advanced strategies. So, without further ado, let’s get started on your journey to darting success and know all about Dart Cricket Rules!

Dart Cricket Rules


Dart Cricket Rules: How many players can Play ?

Cricket is a versatile game that can be enjoyed by one or more players. It’s also perfect for friendly competitions, as it can be played in teams of two. Whether you’re a solo darter or prefer team play, Cricket offers an engaging and exciting experience for everyone involved.

Dart Cricket Rules: How we can Play ?

In a standard game of Cricket, players take turns throwing three darts at the dartboard, aiming to hit specific targets. The main objective is to score more points than your opponent by closing out the designated targets.

Targets: Bull, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20.

At the beginning of the game, all the targets are “open” for each player. To “close” a target, a player must score three marks on that number. Marks can be earned through various combinations of singles, doubles, and triples. A single hit counts as one mark, a double as two marks, and a triple as three marks. The outer and inner bull count as one and two marks, respectively.

  • 1 Mark – Single
  • 2 Marks – Double
  • 3 Marks – Triple (Target is closed)

The first player to close a target “owns” it and can score points on it until their opponent also closes it. Once both players have closed the same target, it no longer awards any points. This strategic element encourages players to aim for higher targets first to accumulate points quickly.

Dart Cricket Rules: Example to score ?

Let’s say a player has two hits on the 20 and then hits a triple 20. They would successfully close the 20 and earn 40 points (2 marks from the first two hits and 3 marks from the triple).

Dart Cricket Rules: How to Win ?

To win a game of Cricket, a player must close all target numbers and have more points than their opponent. If a player successfully closes all their numbers but has fewer points, they must continue scoring until they surpass their opponent or their opponent closes all their target numbers. The first player to achieve both conditions emerges victorious.

Dart Cricket Rules: Tips and Strategy

To excel in Cricket darts, employing effective strategies is key. Here are some valuable tips to enhance your gameplay:

  1. Target High-Valued Numbers First

Aim to close the highest available numbered targets first. Starting with the 20, for instance, allows you to accumulate points quickly, giving you an early advantage over your opponent.

  1. Save the Bull for Last

Experienced players often leave the bull as the final target to close. The bullseye is smaller and more challenging to hit consistently, so it’s best to focus on other targets first and tackle the bull later in the game.

  1. Determine the First Player

Going first in Cricket can provide a slight advantage. To decide who goes first, consider methods like a coin flip or a “bull-off.” In a bull-off, both players throw a dart at the bull, and whoever hits closest earns the privilege of throwing first.


Dart Cricket 


Dart Cricket Rules: Cricket Variations

If you’re looking to add some variety to your Cricket darts experience, try out these popular variations:

  1. No Score Cricket

Perfect for beginners, this variation follows the same rules as regular Cricket but without scoring points. Players focus solely on closing all the numbers to win the game.

  1. Wild Mouse/Minnesota Cricket

In this variation, players must close not only the standard cricket numbers but also doubles, trebles, and three-in-a-bed (three darts in the same segment). Each throw can only count for one requirement, making the game more challenging and strategic.

  1. Spanish Cricket

Expanding on scoring options, Spanish Cricket requires players to close numbers 11, 12, 13, and 14 in addition to the standard cricket numbers and bullseye.

  1. Cut Throat Cricket

In Cut Throat Cricket, the lowest score wins. When a number is owned by a player, the points they score on that number go to their opponent instead. The rest of the rules remain the same.

  1. Killer Cricket

Players win by closing each Cricket number. After a number is closed, additional hits remove the opponent’s hits instead of awarding points.

  1. Scram Cricket

In Scram Cricket, players take turns scoring on open numbers while the opponent tries to close them as quickly as possible. The player with the highest score after each turn wins the round.

  1. Low Pitch Cricket

Similar to regular Cricket, but with the numbers reduced to 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and the bullseye.

  1. Single/Double/Treble Only Cricket

These variations modify how much each throw is worth. In single-only, each dart counts as one mark, regardless of whether it hits a single, double, or treble. Double-only and treble-only versions are also available, each with their specific scoring rules.

  1. Tactics

A UK variant of Cricket that introduces doubles and trebles as scoring options. Players can play with “slop” or “strict” rules, determining whether all doubles and trebles count or just the ones on numbers 15 through 20.


Cricket darts is a thrilling and challenging game that offers endless possibilities for fun and competition. By mastering the rules and employing strategic play, you can become a formidable Cricket player in no time. So gather your darts, hone your skills, and embark on an exciting journey to dartboard supremacy!


3 thoughts on “Dart Cricket Rules: A Journey into the Heart”

Leave a Comment

Follow by Email