ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List since 1975

We will check out the list of all cricket world cup winners since its inception.

Cricket World Cup Winner List: Below is a compilation of the victorious teams in the Cricket World Cup, starting from the tournament’s establishment in 1975. ICC Cricket World cup occurs every 4 years and next 2023 world cup will be played in India. Lets see who is going be added in the list.

For complete information related to upcoming world cup, Click Here


Year Host Country Winner Score Runner-up Score Result Winning Team Captain
1975 England West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs Clive Lloyd
1979 England West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs Clive Lloyd
1983 England India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs Kapil Dev
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs Allan Border
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs Imran Khan
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Arjuna Ranatunga
1999 England Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets Steve Waugh
2003 South Africa Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs Ricky Ponting
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs Ricky Ponting
2011 India and Bangladesh India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets Mahendra Singh Dhoni
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets Michael Clarke
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8 Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count Eoin Morgan
2023 India  –

Country wise data:

As per the history and data Australia won maximum times i.e. 5 and has appeared in finals is 7. Likewise England is in 2nd position with 4 times. Similarly, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India won 3 times each. New Zealand and Pakistan won 2 times. shown over below table.


Team Final Appearances Number of Wins Number of Runner-up Winning Year Runner-up Year
Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 4 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 2 0 2 2015, 2019
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999


T20 World Cup Winners List since 2007 to 2022

T20 cricket pattern has also became so popular among people.  T20 is actually 20-20 where 20-20 is referred to as the overs where each team will have to play 20 overs. This pattern of cricket game is shorted and faster than the traditional One Day International (ODI) and Test matches.T20 cricket has become really popular around the world because it’s a great way to enjoy the excitement of cricket in a shorter amount of time. It’s like a cricket match in fast-forward!

Since 2007 T20 World Cup has been introduced. Find below the list of winners since inception of this game.

Year Winner
2007 India
2009 Pakistan
2010 England
2012 West Indies
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 West Indies
2021 Australia
2022 England


Check out details history

Year Winners Runners Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Venue
2007 India Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2010 England Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir Bangladesh
2016 West Indies England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi India
2021 Australia New Zealand Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga Oman & UAE
2022 England Pakistan Sam Curran Virat Kohli Wanindu Hasaranga Australia


Country wise – T20 World Cup Winners List:

Country Name No. of times Winner Year
England 2 2010, 2022
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan 1 2009
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – Schedule and Timing

Dart Cricket Rules: A Journey into the Heart

2 thoughts on “ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List since 1975”

Leave a Comment

Follow by Email